Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Fuck Tweens (Not literally....that would be wrong)

Sorry about the delay, things have been odd, and life has gotten in the way of my own cantankerousness.

Now on to the reason why the internet was invented...complaining about things that I have no real ideas on how to improve and general grousing.

......anyhoo

Fuck Tweens! I'm sick of the shit that panders to them, the constant advertising to them, and the fact that most of the sheer amount of bullshit in general that has gone into creating this image of what tweens are. What is a tween in reality? Nothing, the term has little to no basis in reality, and is simply another case of the marketplace and advertisers CREATING the market that they want to sell to and tacking advantage of people in a stage of life that is already too self-conscious and worried about fitting in. then they create the IT product and tell them that unless you have this BRAND NEW THING, then you're some kind of sub-human. Add to that the fact that since these tweens are also without thier own income in most cases, the parents are manipulated into buying the crap.
In that same vein I have a related complaint. What the hell happened to Barbie? Not as in the whole "Train Wreck" connotation, but wht happened in general? I remember when Barbie had jobs, she was a Teacher, Flight Attendent, even an Ambassador to the U. N. (May actually be a figment of my imagination). But now what is Barbie....A princess. A lazy sit on her ass and wait to be rescued princess. Somehow in this princessification of Barbie, she became a toy for the younger set. Essentially she became a "Starter Doll" for girls that were too young for Bratz, or to children of Bratz averse parents.
Speaking of Bratz....WHO the FUCK thought that this was a good idea? Yes it made a shitload of money but what was the point of them? It just reinforces the idea of all you need are tits and pretty clothes and everything will be ok. They don't, in my opinion, have any redeeming value to them, put out the entirely wrong message for girls, and when they were forced to change half-assed it. I for one am glad to see them go and hope that they get out of the toy aisle as quickly as they appeared.

Sunday, May 10, 2009

Thoughts, Musings, Life, ETc

Ok, so maybe the title is a little misleading, It's not going to be anywhere that pithy or philosophical. Mostly its a list of complaints against the universe...not that it'll change anything.

-I've begun to hate Fox Network slightly more than usual with the implied and generally expected cancellation of Sit Down, Shut Up. How does Fox get away with cancelling shows shortly after thier premieres? While I admit that it wasn't drawing Simpsons numbers, it was different without that crappy faux-edgy feel. I firmly believe that with a little re-tooling and time it could have been bigger, but in stead they move it to a WORSE timeslot and doom it. That's another odd thought, Why is it when a show is doing poorly do networks move it with no warning? Is it supposed to re-invigorate the show by exposing it to a new audience or by moving it use the now probably lower numbers to justify the early cancellation.